Flame In The Mist : IT’S LIT ALRIGHT

rating

You know how surprising is it for me to write this review? I didn’t like The Wrath and The Dawn  . I still can’t believe this is the book written by the same author. I was closing the book back and forth while reading to check if it was really her name on the cover because I was so shocked LOL. IT’S AMAZING!

 «finding one’s match was like finding one’s other half. Mariko had never understood the notion.
She was not a half. She was wholly her own.» 

tribute

Premise in 5 seconds :  Some samurai Clans enter in conflict with the Emperor future plans. Betrayal, murders and sabotage. Families get destroyed and it’s the turn of the samurai children to take on the responsibilities. 

setting

The setting: Japan. A beautiful world building with an imperial city, a forbidden neighbourhood, pleasure house, a mysterious forest. It’s so simple and the details are not overly described, it was enough to form a picture in my head. It doesn’t feel heavy, we discover the surroundings with each character plot. I am asian and I LOVE learning about this culture (not like I’m already super obsessed with Japanese culture in general). 

tumblr_nskorftwwz1thkk1qo2_500

characters

The characters. They are driven, independent, smart, have their own weakness but seem real and relatable. For the first time, I’m so happy that an author address the different types of strengths concept. For example, the main character is Mariko, she has the strength of the mind. That means, while she completely has no clue about how to attack her opponents with a sword she uses what she has : her mind. 

animegifdump273centersamuraichamploocenter_7bd0c4_6454941

The side characters are very well developed. I appreciate the fact that the author gave space to more stories to each of them because it has room for more interesting plot. If you like the dynamic of Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo, you’ll love this one.Imagine a squad of outlaws but… made of honours, art of katanas and samurai. 

pace

Fast paced and full packed action, you won’t be bored reading this novel (well at least I wasn’t bored hehe). The chapters offer up to 3 POVS and I must admit: while I tend to hate several POVS but in this case, it works very well. The beginning starts with a bang, a tragic and very disturbing introduction. Then, you will yourself submerged in a whole new world, a whole new period of time and soon enough you become attached to the characters.

fans

bookcover
(c) Bookidote
flameinthemistreview
(c)Bookidote
flame
(c)Bookidote

Big thank you to Del Rey from Penguin Random House Canada for a copy of this book! 

Untitled-2

A special THANK YOU to all of you for all your messages: kindly reminding me not to worry about my blogging’s presence. My month just keeps getting busier ! T_T It’s my last semester before graduating University so I have to finish it in beauty you know. But I’m happy to see that a lot of people understand this inconvenient. I would also take advantage to announce that I will likely post my reviews at the end of the week (for example Saturday) and the very beginning of the week (Monday) from now on so you guys are going to see less of me everyday during the week, only once or twice a week. Hope that’s okay for you ❤ !!

trangsignature

Instagram– Facebook– Goodreads– Twitter

53 comments

  • Wonderful review! I kind of had the opposite experience as you – I ADORED The Wrath and the Dawn, but the Flame in the Mist fell a bit short for me. I enjoyed it, as per usual with Ahdieh’s writing, but some things were flat and I couldn’t get onboard with the story. I still will be continuing the series though!

    Liked by 1 person

  • I’m glad you enjoyed this one, Trang! I’ve been very hesitant to pick this one up as I heard a lot of reviews stating that it was a bit boring. However, you’re review is making me want to give it a shot. Great review!

    Like

  • I am a huge fan of everything Asian. I have an enormous movie collection of Asian cinema one dvd, then of course there is anime, I watch Korean dramas, and I love reading more about Asian culture. I just find it al incredibly fascinating.
    After reading this review, I am definitely going to read this one very, very soon. It sounds amazing, and your review was so convincing that I have made it a top priority to track this one down 😀
    As for your question at the end of this post. Of course that’s okay. Blogging is a lot of fun: but the real world is always more important. I was you good luck with everything, and don’t worry: we will all still be here and continue to check out your posts whenever you write them
    Ps: loved the layout for this review 😀

    Like

    • OMG EVERYTHING IN YOUR COMMENTS MADE ME SWOOON ❤ HAHA Always get excited when someone is interested in the asian culture ! Because it's so rich and different from a county to another . Thank you for noticing the layout of this review as well, and as always, your kind words mean everything to me 😀 Thank you thank you so much for your understandig !

      Liked by 1 person

  • Well, you are a bit of a black sheep in the book community about that one, Trang, haha. So many people loved the wrath and the dawn and had a hard time with this one. I personally loved the wrath and the dawn series a whole lot and was very impatient to read this one, but… all the mixed reviews kind of made me less impatient about it overall. I think you managed to make me interested in that one again, a whole lot. you make it sound so good! 🙂

    Like

    • I AM THE BLACK SHEEP AM I NOT HAHA I don’t know why but oh well that’s why I guess we have different types of books for different types of people 😀 Simply happy that you enjoyed The Wrath and The Dawn! I’m still reading its sequel even if I hated the first to see if I’ll like the series overall.

      Liked by 1 person

  • First I LOOOOOVE your graphics. Second it’s the first time that I see 4,8 as a rating. Finally just WOW! I can’t wait to read this one 😉

    Like

    • HAHA I don’t always give high ratings but when I do WOO ❤ Thank you so much for noticing the graphics !! 😀 It always make me happy to see my efforts noticed

      Like

  • Yes I am so glad you enjoyed this book Trang, especially after not enjoying Renee Ahdieh’s other release. 🙂 I loved this one and actually until you mentioned it in your review I didn’t quite make the connection between Flame in the Mist and Six of Crows (if anything you’ve now made me love this one even more)! 😀 ❤
    Great review. 🙂

    Like

  • Great review Trang! I’m going to read this, this year too… actually I wasn’t such a fan of her previous books and have been putting this off because of it but looks like I was worried for nothing. Happy studying, etc for school! You want to end that with a bang ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think we were the only ones in my blogosphere not loving the Wrath and The Dawn HAHA but i do hope you can enjoy this one 😉 ! Thank you so much, I need all the luck I can get with school HAHA

      Liked by 1 person

  • The Six of Crows comparison really sold it to me! I also really like the idea that the author highlights different kinds of strength. I have heard nothing but good things about this book – I really must pick it up.

    Like

  • Oooh I’m so glad you enjoyed this one despite not having liked her previous book! I have yet to read either of them so I can’t comment on it, other than by saying that I’m happy her writing skills were perfected and she was able to deliver such a powerful book.
    I’m super interested in Japanese culture as well! So I’m hoping this will become a favorite of mine 🙂 I’m thinking if I read this one first and then try Wrath that I might find it terrible xD So maybe try that one first, so I can be amazed with this one! 😛
    Amazing review, Trang, and I’m loving the pretty graphics ❤ ❤

    Like

    • If you’re interested in the Japanese culture, I would absolutely love to see your thoughts on it! I thought it was well covered and not heavy like I-rub-it-in-your-face kind of concept you know 😀 Thank you for noticing the graphics, always a pleasure to see someone saying that ❤ !

      Like

  • Your graphics are GIVING ME LIFE! Great review, as always. I had fun reading this one last year and I am hoping to get more answers in the next book! What did you think of the repackaged covers?

    Like

    • THANK YOU KEVIN ❤ I love how my graphics are giving you life HAHA UGH I DONT LIKE THE REPACKAGED COVERS T_T How about you?! Omg and that sequel I DO NEED ANSWERS I was kind of skeptical about the ending

      Like

    • IT IS A VERY GOOD RATING HAHA ITS SO RARE ❤ Hope youre doing well too my lovely babe!! How youve been 😀 I'm so sorry I'm such a potatoe for answering comments THIS late T_T

      Like

      • You’re no potato!!!! I know you are a busy woman! I am doing better love! Slowly but surely and kicking myself out of a depression I was in! I miss you but hon I have been a bit absent myself!😱 Life just gets in the way sometimes. But know you are LOVED and I’m over the moon about my gift and I will treasure it forever and ever!!!😍❤🤗😘 Lovers you!😗📚😁🎀🎊

        Like

  • Good luck and all the best with the final push at the Uni! You can do it! 🙂

    Great review… I never thought I’d want to read this one but… you’re kind of making me reconsider 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  • I will take you whenever I can get you 💗 We all understand! I am so pumped about this review because I picked it up last year and shelfed it after some negative feedback. Wrong! I see the error of my way and plan to read it soon. Be well my friend!

    Like

  • Great review, Trang! I’m so glad you loved this book! It was a wonderful book and I loved every part of it! It’s one of my favorite books! I absolutely loved Mariko and Okami! I’m so excited for the sequel! 🙂

    Like

    • Omg Im so happy you loved this book too!! Mariko and Okami were soo pricelesss 😀 I cant wait for the sequel too but Im kind of disappointed in that ending 😦

      Like

  • Ahh I’m tremendously excited by how good you found this cos it’s been on my tbr for ages!! I’m actually super keen to read something set in Japan just now- I’m so fascinated by the culture- and I’m so glad it was done well 😀 I love that Mariko’s main strength is her mind- YES a million times to that!! And I’m glad the pacing was good too.

    Good luck with your last semester! And take it easy! 😀

    Like

  • What a great review! I need to get my hands on this book asap! You totally had me and then I read For Fans of Six of Crows and Mulan and I was like WHY DON’T I OWN THIS BOOK ALREADY GIMME!

    Like

  • Great review! I definitely agree that this is book is perfect for fans of Six of Crows, and love how you mentioned how all of the characters are strong and have strength in different ways. I also really like how you set out your review 🙂

    Like

Submit a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s