How Do You Choose What to Read Next?

Hello ladies and gentlemen,

If there’s one thing we all have in common as bookworms, it’s the dreaded and insanely huge to-be-read (TBR) mountain.

As if it wasn’t already an inevitable and impossibly tall, it also takes many forms.

Think about it. You’ve got your physical TBR (tip of the iceberg) that continuously stares you down on a daily basis, and then you’ve got the virtual TBR (the hidden bottom of the iceberg) that grows exponentially.

But the worse part of it all is to decide which book to read next. That’s where I thought I’d share some ways that I’ve employed and some I’ve heard others do!


loveatfirstsight

This is when you are wonderstruck by the cover of a book that anything else simply becomes irrelevant. The choice is simple. The choice is made.

Image result for love at first sight gif

amnesicconsumerism

Every had so many books to choose from that the best solution was as simple as to get a new one to be read next? Nothing like an immediate purchase to solve your dilemma. Let’s just forget about all the books we already have and get a new one!

Related image

arcs

Nothing like piling up on Advance Review Copies and realizing that the deadlines (release dates) are all one after the other! The choice for your next read is pretty much crystal clear here.

Image result for no choice gif

moodcompass

Sometimes there’s just no better way to make decisions than by following our hearts. Forget rationality. It’s all in the emotions!

Image result for believe gif

comfortread

Just like comfort food, you know these won’t bring anything significant in your life, but they’re so precious and impossible to resist! You’ll gladly take a bite into these and will seek them out whenever you need them!

Related image

randomselection

So many ways to go about it, but the idea is the same: everything is purely luck. Whether it’s a jar filled with the titles of the books you want to read or a flip of a coin, you know deep down that the only way you’ll be picking your next read is by doing it blindly!

Image result for russian roulette gif

chainreaction

This is only for those who are about to start a new series. Their next book is pretty simple: the next book in the series. Binging a series makes life so much easier, but how do you pick which series to start though? Ha! Guess another method will be needed!

Image result for easy choice gif

recommendation

Why make your life complicated? Just let someone else pick your next book for you! Some people just jump from one recommendation to another and never have to pick anything themselves. How great is that?

Image result for too easy gif

sensorygoodness

While some prefer letting their emotions decide their next read, others let their own senses decide. Does it feel good in their hands? Does it smell right? Does it taste good?

Related image

upcomingadaptation

This is an easy way to decide what book to read next. Nowadays a lot of movies are based on books, and what better way to prepare for these movies than to read the book first?

Image result for i can't wait gif

sizematters

This isn’t what you think! But it is about the size of a book and sometimes this helps immensely in narrowing it down to what fits in your bagโ€”still not what you think. It’s also about how much willpower you got left in the tank to take on a monster book.

Image result for size matters gif

requiredreading

To all the kids who still have required reading because of school. I’m sorry. I hope your teacher is awesome and you get your hands on some good ones!

Image result for required reading gif

diversitythroughchallenges

I’ve seen a lot of bloggers use challenges to pick their next books to read, and it does help immensely. Although you risk having to go through books you might not be in the mood for anymore!

Image result for required reading gif

strategicsystem

I know some folks who have a system they follow to the letter and make sure to cover all bases. Read a heavy and dark fantasy book, then a graphic novel, then a light science fiction, etc. Rince and repeat. The system is almost flawless and sometimes you just have to wonder if they aren’t actually robots.

Image result for robot reading gif


Honestly, ARCs have been dominating my reading choices, but I’m trying to find a new balance so I can get back to enjoying classics that I have always been meaning to read! I think it’s time to embrace a strategic system! ๐Ÿ˜

And now tell me, how do you choose what to read next? ๐Ÿค”

Any particular strategy that tickles your fancy? ๐Ÿ˜‹

Until next time,

lashaansignature

Instagramโ€“ย Facebookโ€“ย Goodreadsโ€“ย Twitter

82 comments

Submit a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s